avow logo

About AVOW

Meet our Trustees

The board of Trustees formulate and regulate to ensure the charity acts in accordance with its constitution and by managing its activities.

Howard Davies

Mervyn Dean

Mervyn Dean was Principal Auditor with Wrexham County Borough Council and a former Non-Executive Director of the RJAH Orthopaedic Hospital, Gobowen, where he was chair of the Audit Committee. He is also Vice Chair and Governor at Ysgol Rhiwabon and Chair of their Finance Committee. He was appointed as a Trustee in 2015.

John Leece Jones

John Leece Jones is Chair and Company Secretary of AVOW. John is a retired Solicitor, Chair of Governors The Rofft CP School Marford, Governor Yale College[Chair of F&GP Committee and of the Remuneration Committee] , Chair Wrexham CAB, Trustee Maes y Pant Action Group Ltd.
Previously a Non-Executive Director NEW NHS Trust, a member of the Nursing and Midwifery Council [Vice-chair Nursing Committee and Vice-Chair Investigating Committee], Chair NEW CHC and Chair of the Welsh Association of CHCs. Has been involved in NHS Complaints and Social Services Appeals and has served on numerous ministerial advisory groups.
Has also been a trustee ,treasurer and secretary of local charities, a founder and chair of the North East Wales Association of Out of School Clubs and Secretary of Wrexham Governors’ Association. Also a community councillor and school governor for over twenty years.

Moira Jones

Moira Jones joined the Executive Committee of AVOW in July 2007. Moira is a retired registered nurse who spent 22 years working in Senior Nursing Management. She was involved with the Maelor Voluntary Service (MVS) as a Trustee and then appointed as Manager and Business Development Manager of the organisation – She retired from this position in December 2010. Moira is also a trustee of the Shooting Star Centre, Wrexham Maelor Hospital and is a member of the Valuation Tribunal Service for Wales.

Joyce M’Caw

Joyce became a trustee in 2012. Joyce recently retired as Chief Executive for Careers Wales North East.

Wanjiku Mbugua

Wanjiku Mbugua holds a Bachelor of Arts degree and Postgraduate degree in Education from University of Nairobi. She has recently completed a Masters Degree programme in Community Development at Bangor University.

She is currently Bawso’s North Wales Regional Manager with over ten years experience leading the Domestic abuse service delivery functions of Bawso with 10 employees and 40 volunteers, having started the project from scratch in North Wales in 2006. Wanjiku has managed and supported staff members working with clients suffering from all BME -specific forms of Domestic Abuse including; FGM, Forced Marriage, Honor based violence and Human trafficking. She is recognized for ability to offer safe shelter, crisis intervention, advocacy, and education and prevention programs for BME families faced with domestic abuse in North Wales. Wanjiku understands and is able to identify standards and procedures for prioritizing needs and objectives and for designing clear, concise action/service plans that address outcomes, incorporate measurable activities, and have meaning to the families that are supported by Bawso.

As a manager for BAWSO she has developed and led a range of projects targeted at both the migrant and indigenous communities in Wales on issues such as personal and life skills, Equality and Diversity, anti racism and Inter-culturalism.

Stephen Perkins

Stephen Perkins is a retired company director and has been a carer for some twenty three years.  He is a past chairman of the Wrexham Carers Forum and of the Wrexham Programme Group.  He is a founder member of Motiv8 Wrexham.  Stephen enjoys architecture, history and spending time with his dog, Oscar.  He is vice chairman of the North Wales and North Powys Recovery Network.

Barbara Roxburgh

Councillor Barbara Roxburgh was elected as a member of Wrexham County Borough Council in May 2012. Barbara is a former nurse and Youth & Community Worker for Clwyd & Cheshire County Councils. Before returning to live in Wrexham in 1989, she was Chief Officer for Voluntary Action Cumbria, based at Whitehaven. A founder member of Caia Park Partnership Ltd and formerly its Company Secretary, she is currently employed by Wrexham Tenants Federation. She is also a Community Councillor, School Governor and is active in a wide variety of charitable and community groups and issues.

David Thompson

David Thompson was appointed to the Executive Board in March 2016.

Mary Walker

Mary Walker was appointed as a trustee of AVOW from November 2016.  Retired in 2015. Formerly HR Director European Operations responsible for the people within the business and a senior manager in the aerospace sector. Overall responsibility for health and safety across all European sites as well as recruitment, retention, skill development, policy, procedures and HR and H&S strategic direction.  Earlier career within Nuclear sector as IT and system development manager. Holding BA and MSc.  Voluntary sector:  held position as Chair of trustee board at Citizens Advice prior to joining AVOW in 2016.  Voluntary sector: held position as Chair of trustee board at Citizens Advice prior to joining AVOW in 2016.

betsi cadwaladrwrexham150th-anniversary-logo_smallLayout 1pqasso_welsh_level_2_logoSFC-PQASSO_2 Star_CMYKtssw-large-logo
Communities 2.0 logo

All rights reserved. © Association of Voluntary Organisations in Wrexham 2020

Website design and development: Colony of Ants Web Design