avow logo

About AVOW

Marjorie Dykins OBE Volunteer Memorial Awards Winners 2019

The winners of the Marjorie Dykins OBE Volunteer Memorial Awards 2019 were announced at the Association of Voluntary Organisations in Wrexham (AVOW) Christmas Reception at Catrin Finch Centre, Glyndwr University on Friday 13th December 2019.

The certificates were presented, on behalf of AVOW, by the Mayor of Wrexham (Councillor Rob Walsh) and the high Sheriff of Clwyd, Stephanie Catherall.

The winner of the individual award was Christopher Jones, of Blood Bikes Wrexham, for his long term dedication and commitment to supporting the aims of the organisation and the winner of the Group award was the Wrexham Citizens Advice Volunteers, for their continued advice and guidance to individuals in need in the local community. Both winners were presented with certificates and a cheques for £500 for their respective organisations.

The runners-up were presented with a highly commended certificates. The awards are presented in the memory of Marjorie Dykins OBE, founder member and secretary of AVOW. The award scheme was established fallowing consultation with Marjorie’s’ family who generously donated £5,000 towards the awards.

John Gallanders, Chief Officer of AVOW said: “We wish to thank the family of Marjorie Dykins OBE, to enable us to recognise the good work of individuals and organisations across Wrexham County Borough, who provide invaluable support to the local community’



Mayor of Wrexham (Councillor Rob Walsh) with representatives from AVOW and Blood Bikes Wrexham

betsi cadwaladrwrexham150th-anniversary-logo_smallLayout 1pqasso_welsh_level_2_logoSFC-PQASSO_2 Star_CMYKtssw-large-logo
Communities 2.0 logo

All rights reserved. © Association of Voluntary Organisations in Wrexham 2020

Website design and development: Colony of Ants Web Design