English
Welsh

Introduction

Welcome by John Leece Jones.

It gives me great pleasure as Chair of AVOW to introduce our Annual Review for 2012-13 in our Silver Jubilee Year. Firstly I would like to express appreciation for the considerable contribution made to AVOW by my predecessor, Mervyn Rosenberg and by former Vice - Chair Gail Thomas, both of whom have decided to retire as trustees. We have also lost two long serving managers, Cathryn Williams and Ann Vaughan. We wish them all well and will miss them very much. We have also said farewell to the Communities First staff at Plas Madoc following the transfer of the project (and the staff) to Wrexham County Borough Council.

The introduction to last year's report warned of troubles ahead and this is likely to be the case for a few years yet but AVOW is available to assist third sector organisations in all operational and governance aspects. The Welsh Government, in 2013/14, will be conducting a very important Review of the Third Sector- the outcome of which is likely to influence the way the Welsh Government work with the sector and it is vital that all organisations engage in the consultation process. For 9 years AVOW administered the Community Facilities Activities Programme (CFAP grants scheme). This has now been consolidated into a central fund to be administered on an all Wales basis by the Welsh Government but we will continue to support local bodies in their applications and endeavour to ensure there is no reduction in funds coming to the Wrexham area.

The Welsh Language Measure will, over the next few years, increasingly affect everyone in Wales who delivers services to the public and AVOW will be inviting Meri Huws - the Welsh Language Commissioner - to Wrexham to meet with members in order to explain obligations and expectations. I would like to express thanks to our staff, volunteers, members and my fellow Trustees for all their hard work and above all for the enthusiasm and good will throughout the past year. I hope you will enjoy reading a review of AVOW's activities over the past year.

Welcome by John Gallanders

The year 2012/13 has certainly seen increasing challenges for voluntary organisations and community groups with both staff and volunteers as in many instances they’ve found more and more people looking to them for help. No matter what type of organisation, there has been an increasing pressure on them to find funding to keep their services and support running. The current economic climate is proving very difficult due to donations decreasing and grants funding becoming more competitive and difficult to obtain. The voluntary and community sector is being urged more than ever to collaborate and work to achieve greater efficiencies.

At AVOW we provide practical support for groups and are able to loan a wide range of equipment and resources. We have also seen a major expansion in the amount of information available on our web site to help groups no matter what their issues. We don’t, however, wish to lose our personal contact and our staff are always willing to attend meetings to offer support. There are still many opportunities for groups to come together and share their experiences and knowledge – it is far better to learn from others than try and reinvent the wheel when someone has already done something successfully. Often it is useful to know when something hasn’t worked particularly well so that others don’t make the same mistakes.

As mentioned by the Chair in his Welcome, 2013 is the 25th Anniversary of AVOW and our slogan for the year is MAD – Make a difference – a lot can be done by individuals but far more can often be achieved collectively and that is where our strength as a sector should come from. I wish to thank all AVOW members, Trustees, Staff, the increasing band of volunteers and all our partner organisations and agencies we work with for their dedicated work and support during the year.

AVOW Trustees

Welcoming our new Trustees
Stephen Perkins

Stephen is a retired company director, and chairs the Carers Information Service Advisory Group and sits on the Health and Social Care Advisory Group.

Joyce M’Caw

Prior to her retirement at the end of March 2012, she was Chief Executive for Careers Wales North East. Joyce also had significant contact with Welsh Government Ministers, Assembly Members and senior civil servants within the Education and Skills Division.

Peter Webb

Peter has recently retired after a 35 year career with the public, private and third sectors across a range of disciplines from General Practice Surveying, Facilities Management and Project Management.

Farewell...
We would like to say thank you and goodbye to our former Trustees
David Galley
Gail Thomas
Mervyn Rosenberg
Wendy Smith

Everyone at AVOW wishes them well for the future.

Our Current Trustees
Our current Trustees are:
Anne Ryan
(Vice Chair)
Barbara Roxburgh
Dave Hylands
(Treasurer)
Raymond Jones
John Leece Jones
(Chair)
Joyce M’Caw
Margaret Bryden
Marjorie Dykins
Michael Williams
Moira Jones
Peter Webb
Rosemarie Williams
Stephen Perkins

Helping You Work

The Volunteer Centre
From 1st April 2012 – 31st March 2013 the Volunteer Centre Team interviewed over 500 prospective volunteers resulting in 280 volunteer placements.
Ollie's Cafe
AVOW has run Ollie's Cafe at the Law Courts, Bodhyfryd, Wrexham since February 2012. The café helps provide volunteering opportunities within a catering environment for individuals experiencing unemployment, health issues and substance misuse. Marie Dingley-Shortt (as feautured in the video above) is the Catering Co-ordinator at the café and has seen it go from strength to strength with many volunteers using it as an opportunity to build skills, experience and confidence.
The Big Volunteering Project
The BIG Volunteering Project runs in tandem with the Volunteer Centre and has been developed to enable individuals at risk of isolation and exclusion to consider volunteering as an opportunity to develop social skills and community participation. One to one time is spent with individuals to talk about the project and inform them of group volunteering sessions or volunteer taster sessions. The aim is to get participants to the stage where they are ready to volunteer independently. Lisa Jones, Project Co-ordinator has so far supported 48 people, 38 of whom have been placed in volunteering opportunities. A year into the project we are on target to fulfil the obligations of the contract awarded from the Big Lottery and many more people are set to benefit.
Gwirvol Grants
Big Health day
AVOW’s Health & Social Care Team organised a Big Health Day event in May 2012 at Wrexham Memorial Hall in the town centre. Over 40 stands were staffed by volunteers and representatives from a wide variety of groups and organisations. All of these groups had a focus on health and well-being and gave advice, information, free samples and health checks to over 350 members of the public during the day-long event. It was a lively and busy day for all involved and another Big Health Day is planned for October 2013 with the theme of older people’s health.
The Carers Information Service
The Carers Information Service provide information, advice and emotional support to unpaid, informal carers living in Wrexham County Borough. Over the last twelve months, the service has helped 1370 carers find out about their rights for both themselves and the person they care for as well as providing opportunities for them to meet others in similar situations to them by means of support groups, outings and activities. The year has seen the launch of new training sessions specifically for carers on topics like:
  • Manual Handling
  • Stress Management
  • Epilepsy
  • Diabetes and
  • Stroke Awareness
Working In Partnership With
&
Working In Partnership
Over the past year AVOW continued to provide a Peer Mentoring service to people affected by drug or alcohol misuse. Volunteer Peer Mentors, who had experience of substance misuse issues themselves, were recruited and trained to support people to develop their confidence and equip them with the skills necessary to enter the world of work. The scheme ended in December 2012 but CAIS and AVOW have worked together to make sure that support continues to be available throughout the County Borough.
A service user said:
“I don’t need drugs now to face things. The Peer Mentors never gave up on me; they encouraged me to keep going.”
Little Sunflowers Child Care
Little Sunflowers is a wraparound childcare service run from AVOW’s site in Plas Madoc. Little Sunflowers endeavours to positively respond to the diverse needs of the children and their families, treating everyone as individuals. The child care received is adapted to cater for the family needs - some parents benefit by being able to commit to employment and education opportunities whilst other families may need respite or emotional support and encouragement. Parents feel reassured knowing their children are cared for in a home from home environment with highly qualified staff who care.
The Play Team
AVOW has a proven track record of delivering successful play projects both as part of the Community First Programme and distinct independent projects. Play is a significant of the development work AVOW facilitates to providing a range of services for the children, young people and families that reside within and around the Plas Madoc and Gwenfro wards and has now expanded into seven new areas in February 2013 under the new Urban Villages Cluster.
The Play Team have an excellent track record with regard to consultation with the local community and development of projects that meet the needs of children and young people and their families. This year AVOW have recently secured funding through Children in Need to provide additional support to individual children and families who are experiencing further barriers to accessing play provision because of disability, segregation or being marginalised.
In addition to the large numbers of children and young people who access this provision, significant numbers of adults, including parents, visit these projects to play with their children, speak to staff and socialise with other adults. The projects therefore represent a primary form of community engagement not just for children and young, people but adults as well, and it is from this engagement and on-going social-interaction that community ownership of these projects has developed.
AVOW Plas Madoc Department
With funding from the Kathleen Davies Trust (KDT) AVOW have been able to encourage and develop a culture of participation in a civil society, through creation of opportunities for volunteering and improved social economy within Plas Madoc and the neighbouring communities. Based at Plas Madoc Opportunities Centre there are numerous engagement groups and activities which aim to empower individuals through developing their skill sets and self-confidence to make informed decisions about their lives. This is achieved through working with individuals to help them identify and remove any perceived or actual barriers to participation within both community activities and voluntary organisations.
Victoria Westaway, Regeneration Officer in Plas Madoc said:
“I aim to support initiatives that engage older and vulnerable people in an active life within their community and encourage inter-generational projects involving schools and youth provisions that benefit both the individuals involved and the wider community”.

Awards & Recognitions

Helping your Organisation

Recruitment Sessions
The Volunteer Centre has a responsibility to support voluntary organisations with volunteers and advice about volunteering issues. The Volunteer Centre Team have arranged 10 recruitment sessions at AVOW in the last twelve months. The sessions have enabled 60 organisations to promote their opportunities to prospective volunteers who attended the sessions.
How 2
During the reporting period, the Community Development Team delivered a “How 2” Event at Marchwiel Village Hall. Short snappy sessions provided organisations with the following topics:
  • How 2 Understand your organisation’s accounts
  • How 2 Improve the effectiveness of your organisation
  • How 2 Know what funders want
  • How 2 Recruit volunteers for your organisation
  • How 2 Benefit from local businesses
  • How 2 Understand Insurance
Everyone who attended had positive things to say about the event, and benefited in different ways. Following the session Maes-y-Pant Quarry, Gresford, worked with Business Supporting Communities (B2C), developed links with a local business who are allowing staff a volunteering day to work in the woodland. They have also successfully attracted a grant to finish laying footpaths and signage throughout the wooded area.
Help with Grants and Funding
Ceiriog Valley Bowling Club enquired about getting mains electricity to their clubhouse. The Community Development Team identified a fund, and gave advice on how to apply. They were successful and received a £4000 grant - now they can enjoy a well-earned cuppa after their matches!

The Wrexham Community Facility and Activities Programme (WCFAP) has provided grants to a wide range of community groups to improve local facilities across the county. Grants have provided such things as:

  • Playground swings repairs
  • Maintenance for community buildings
  • Timing clocks for homing pigeon societies
  • Creation of woodland footpaths
  • Park benches and picnic benches
  • Replacement windows and doors
  • Play equipment for a playgroup
  • Carpets and floorings
  • Computers and digital equipment
  • Kitchen appliances for a village hall.
AVOW regularly invite Funders to Wrexham to speak to members, because AVOW understands that funding is a major issue for most groups. Having the chance to speak to funders before applying for grants makes it easier to apply, and can really improve the chances of success. During 2012, four Funding Surgeries were organised, giving AVOW members the chance to have pre-application chats with the Arts Council Wales, Cory Environmental Trust in Britain, the Big Lottery Fund and Environment Wales.
Working In Partnership With
Julie Cooper, Health and Social Care Development Officer for AVOW, is always happy to provide support, advice and signposting as required. The Macmillan Shooting Star Information and Support Centre was the first Macmillan Centre in Wales and opened its doors in February 2009. It became apparent from early on that working in partnership with Voluntary Service organisations would be essential for the service to deliver enhanced support to users of the service. Over the years AVOW has continued to provide support to both staff and visitors attending the Macmillan Shooting Star Information & Support Centre.
Macmillan Information & Support Manager Pam Wedley said: ”Julie is very approachable and has been able to facilitate additional support in the community for cancer patients, their relatives and carers as well as provide me with advice and support.“ Pam went on to say: “AVOW has been extremely supportive of the work of Macmillan Cancer Support. Julie and the team have provided rooms for meetings, signposting to the carers service at AVOW, advertised Macmillan events in the AVOW newsletter, helped recruit volunteers to work in the Centre and provided opportunities for additional training to support volunteers in their work.”
AVOW continues to work in partnership with Macmillan Cancer Support to support cancer awareness events and Julie and the team at AVOW have been able to provide/signpost to additional voluntary services and support that are not provided by the Health Board or Macmillan. AVOW also facilitates meetings between local organisations, including Macmillan Cancer Support and regularly provides updates and newsletters for visitors to the Centre on the work of AVOW.
“On a personal note”, Pam said, ” Julie was able to signpost me to a free lip-reading course at AVOW, which I found extremely helpful. “
Wrexham Carers Service work in partnership with many statutory and third sector organisations to ensure carers have access to the information and services they need. Regular newsletter promotes services offered by local and national organisations and how Carers can access these. When arranging large events for carers such as Carers Rights Day and Carers Week, many organisations are invited to join events which give carers the full flavour of services available. The service has also made numerous referrals to statutory and Third Sector organisations across Wrexham and signposted many more.
The Plas Madoc Community Development team work with other organisations to maintain and develop appropriate services within Wrexham County Borough and regionally, which are available to support the development of a participative culture. The team endeavour to identify and liaise with appropriate partners on possible joint projects that will reduce isolation and foster participation amongst different cultural / social groups within the community.

Our building Ty Avow, located by the bus station in Wrexham Town Centre, has developed as a major Resource Centre and is the hub for all voluntary and community groups and provides a myriad of information, advice and resources. AVOWs buildings are accessible in Wrexham and Plas Madoc and provide suitable meeting space, training rooms and office accommodation and both buildings are ideally situated for supporting the community. AVOW also has equipment to hire out to groups such as:

  • Projectors
  • Marquees
  • Presentation boards
  • Fundraising buckets
  • PA system

We also have basic office facilities such as photocopying, franking, and faxing. Available to assist all community groups and third sector organisations within Wrexham County Borough.

This year saw the launch of the Community Directory which created a one stop shop for the public to find an organisation that can help. The Directory, which can be accessed from our website www.avow.org, contains over 250 organisations and community groups from Aberoer Village Institute to Wrexham Women’s Aid and allows searches by area, activities or beneficiary. We wish to expand the Directory and ask everyone to check details of organisations they are involved with - if you are not listed let us know as it will help to promote your activities.

Giving you a Voice

Making sure that the voice of Third Sector organisations is heard and taken seriously by health & social care agencies is a key job of AVOW’s Health & Social Care Team. The team are passed many documents that propose changes to the way health & social care services are delivered, including changes to the way that healthcare is delivered across North Wales were proposed by Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board (BCUHB).

Consultation Events for groups and organisations were arranged to discuss the proposed changes and the effect those changes would have on the people who use their services. There was lively debate and discussion. The key points were written up on behalf of Third Sector groups and sent to BCUHB as part of its formal consultation process.

The Sector added its voice to influence the decisions taken by the Health Board when it decided whether or not to put the proposals into practice, and we are grateful for the many contributions to the proposals recieved.

AVOW has consulted on various documents produced by:

Through AVOW’s Carers Service, Carers in Wrexham have been involved in a range of consultations affecting services both locally and nationally. Some of these include:

  • The Social Services Well Being Bill
  • Bowel Screening Test Carer Leaflet
  • Wrexham County Borough Council Learning Disability Commissioning Strategy
  • Refreshing The Carers Strategy For Wales
  • The Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board Carer Information Leaflet
Claire Griffiths, Play Manager, worked in partnership with Wrexham County Borough Council (WCBC) to carry out a Play Sufficiency Assessment for Wrexham. The Welsh Government recently passed a law which required all councils in Wales to carry out an investigation into the time and space children and young people have for playing. This assessed the quantity and quality of play opportunities for children and young people in the Wrexham area. Claire helped form a parent focus group in Plas Madoc to feedback individuals findings. The information will be used to find ways of protecting and improving the time and space available for young people to play out. The Play Department has also worked in partnership with WCBC to carry out the play sufficiency assessment for Wrexham.

Training throughout the year

INTRODUCTION TO PROJECT MANAGEMENT
TRUSTEES ROLES & RESPONSIBILITIES
EQUALITY & DIVERSITY
MARKETING YOUR ORGANISATION
HEALTH & SAFETY
SOCIAL MEDIA
FOOD HYGIENE
FIRST AID
ESSENTIAL SKILLS ENTRY LEVEL 3 QUALIFICATION
GRANTS FIT FOR FUNDING
CHILD PROTECTION
CHAIRING SKILLS
  • 100%
    of respondents reported their knowledge had greatly increased as a result of the support received
  • 100%
    of respondents would return to AVOW for further advice
  • 100%
    of respondents would recommend AVOW to another person
  • 98%
    of participants responded that their knowledge had increased as a result of the course
  • 98%
    of participants responded that the courses was very good/ good
  • 88%
    of respondents felt support received was either excellent or very good. 12% of respondents felt the support was good
  • 86%
    of participants achieved their objectives as a result of attending the course
  • 71%
    of respondents have implemented the advice received with 29% of respondents confirming they intend to implement the advice

Case Studies

Dan is a recovering alcoholic who has turned his life around after attending a rehabilitation programme at The Elms. He then trained to help people with substance misuse difficulties by becoming a Peer Mentor with AVOW’s Peer Mentoring Project.

Dan MacKenzie is now a volunteer with AVOW and has been the Chairman of the Wrexham Alliance of Service User Partnership (WASUP) for the past 14 months. He has offered to take on a new role in WASUP around events and marketing. He has played a leading role in organising and delivering two major Service User focussed events in Wrexham together with delivering a workshop at an All Wales Conference. This Conference was called to look at ways that people who provide substance misuse services, like the local Council and the Health Authority, could engage better with the people who use those services. Dan talked about how services are working in partnership with people who use those services in Wrexham.

Dan said: “I was drinking up to 6 bottles of cider every single day. It was horrible and depressing. I was just drinking to numb the pain.” Free of drink now Dan said: “I am feeling a lot more confident and now working voluntarily for AVOW and WASUP.”
A Carers Story
Steven, aged 52 is married to Elizabeth, aged 44. Steven’s life changed dramatically when his wife was diagnosed with Huntington’s disease in 2004. Steven worked full time in management and was able to maintain this initially. However, as Huntingdon’s is a degenerative condition Steve’s caring role increased over the years. Sadly, Steven felt it necessary to give up work to provide the full time care his wife required. Steven was handed a leaflet from an Occupational Therapist about The Wrexham Carers Service and came along in September 2012. After a long chat with a support worker Steven registered with the service. This was the first time he’d ever considered his own needs. He recalls this as his ‘first step to recovery’. One of the first services Steven accessed was the Carer Drop In. He found this to be extremely helpful and says this has helped him come to terms with his wife’s illness and accept the fact that he has his own identity as well as a caring role, and now attends as regular as often. The Carers newsletter keeps him updated on services that could benefit both himself and his wife. He has accessed various Carer outings and activities which Steven says provide “nice breaks”. Wrexham Carers Service has been successful in finding a grant for the couple to replace some carpets within their home and a recent benefit check has resulted in the couple receiving money back from Wrexham Council which was an overpayment on their council tax bill.
Steven tells us: “It’s good to know Wrexham Carers Service are there for me when I need help and support and I have also made new friends.”
My AVOW
Story by Pete Fuller
Life deals both good and bad time to us all but some time a bad run stretches longer and longer and all your usual strength and resolve gets sapped way in coping. These are the darkest times for anyone and when all your lights go out its easy become lost and simply give up. But, some time a guiding light finds you in your darkness and illuminates the path back. AVOW was that torch bearer for me. Back in 2004 I was married with three lovely kids, I owned my own house, had a new car, family holidays every year, good friends and a close family. Having served in the Parachute Regiment of the British Army I was now a professional HGV driver, driving up to 40 ton articulated vehicles, and in my spare time I repaired computers and wrote my own programs for them. I loved life and with a healthy and happy family I felt invincible - there was no problem I couldn’t face and no mountain I couldn’t climb. Early one morning while unloading a vehicle by hand I collapsed in crippling pain and unable to move. What had started as a fantastic autumn morning was the being of the end for life as I knew it. Over the next few years I was in pain every moment of every day and night, standing, sitting, bathing and sleeping were all agony but worst of all for me was the pain of simply walking a few paces. I quickly lost my health, ballooning in weight from 14 stone to 19 inside of 9 months. Depression quickly followed as I now had to rely on friends and family for everything. Medical followed medical and treatment followed treatment but the side effects were frequently as bad as everything else. For four years there was no answer and little relief - only morphine twice a day. During this time my life just fell away. As we struggled to cope I had to watch my wife manage not just with a seriously disabled daughter but now with a disabled husband. We had to sell the house and car to cope with mounting debts and we had to move away to rent suitable accommodation and slowly lost friends. Pain may be all controlling but it also focuses the mind and if I have one trait it’s that I’m stubborn. I found one way to take the mind off constant pain was to distract it and rather than sit and cry about my problems I started to study with the Open University. A few simple courses lead to more complex ones and soon I had higher education qualifications in computer science. I started to offer advice and guidance to local friends and businesses gaining me membership to the Chartered Institute for IT. However, this wasn’t the turnaround I had hoped for and I continued to lose everything that I had held dear including my marriage in 2009. This was the time all my lights had gone out. I had battled pain, disability, and the loss of everything but had no help, advice or guidance from anywhere – government or medical. Until one day my GP suggested I contact AVOW and look at volunteering somewhere. I remember thinking volunteering is just a scam for organisations to get work for nothing but I had nothing and felt totally isolated, worthless and alone and so why not …. and I contacted AVOW. It was a light at the end of the tunnel from the first moment I spoke to someone and I will never forget the two people I met that day. Genuine, caring, understanding, with no underlying agenda but to listen and not just offer advice but real guidance. I started to help AVOW themselves shortly after and frequently stayed for the full day. Being around genuine people that care and seeing that I could help them slowly started to recharge my batteries. I started to feel valued again and they helped me build my confidence in the skills I had. Most importantly I started to enjoy being around people again and wasn’t ashamed or embarrassed about of my health problems and disability. I made not just friends but good friends. In 2012 I had an operation on the nerves in my lower back to try to help manage the nerve damage that had caused all my problems and hopefully help me manage the pain and mobility issues. But, thanks to AVOW, their faith in me and support I also gained full time employment as a Technical Support Officer for Wrexham and Flintshire. AVOW taught me the true value of helping people worse off and showed me the personal rewards of making a difference to someone who is lost and struggling. Seeing this from both sides I am now fortunate to be in a position where I can continue to do that professionally using the skills I have built, through adversity. But, I will never forget the people at AVOW and the life skills they taught me. Without their genuine support, care and assistance I would be lost. If it is true that Wrexham is a jewel of Wales then it is the people of AVOW that keep it polished.

AVOW Made a difference to us...

They are always there to help me and provide support. They are a fantastic service and I trust them.
Scott Gormally
...By having people on the end of a telephone who treat you like human beings answering your questions however small, are willing to come and meet you rather than an automated service.
David Harris
...By always supporting us when we needed it throughout the year.
Family Friends
...By giving us the opportunity to tell more people about our service, and to find more volunteers.
Contact the Elderly
...By providing capital funds through a grant scheme in order for our organisation to set-up and provide the necessary resources to develop and progress our ability to enhance our pupil base in music and drama.
Limelight Productions
...By providing grant funding to pay for improvements to our community centre. This has made a huge difference to the appearance of the hall which has led to an increase in bookings.
Garth & Trevor Community Centre Associations Management Committee
I would like to thank you for the opportunity AVOW has given me to develop my skills, gain experience and contribute to all the work within the organisation. I can see the big difference how I was before I started the placement and work and now. I’m sure that the confidence I’ve gained and all the experience will help me in my future career.
Marta Karwacka
Just wanted to say “Thank you” so much for having me. I have learnt a lot in the 10 weeks I have been here and I would love to come back sometime if any opportunity arises. I leave here a different person from when I came and will always remember my experience. Once again Thank You for the Amazing opportunity! I will miss you…
Audrey Mukosera

AVOW helped us make a difference by...

...Enabling and empowering us through disseminating information via website.
David Harris
...Providing a unique service to our members at WST.
Wrexham Supporters Trust
...Providing information, advice and training to ensure Hightown Community Resource Centre Steering Group gained the knowledge and skills needed to take the project forward.
Wales & West Housing
Quotes from The Land:
  • It lets me have fun! - Child aged 9 1/2
  • We go on trips, I can jump in the lake, how awesome is that! - Child aged 11
  • If I didn't come here I would stay in - Child aged 9
  • If I didn't come here, I would be sleeping for 1200 years - Child aged 11
  • I can get messy whenever I want - Child aged 9
  • I have learnt to stand up for myself - Child aged 11
  • It's helped me make new friends - Child aged 11

AVOW in Numbers

  • 38,000
    Visitors to the website
  • 12,172
    Newsletters Distrubted
  • 11,220
    Enquiries Receieved and Responded to
  • 7,721
    Views on the jobs page of the AVOW Website
  • 7,398
    Visits to 'The Land'
  • £5,617,85
    Total amount being sought through Grant Enquiries
  • 2,743
    Receiving regular newsletters
  • 1,370
    Carers Enquiries dealt with
  • 1,223
    Hours of play provision
  • 500
    Successful Applicants for the carers small Grant Scheme
  • 376
    Carers Counselling and Appointments and Relaxation Therapies Provided
  • 350
    Visitors to The Big Health Day
  • 312
    New Carers registered with The Carers Information Service
  • 290
    Funding Enquiries Received and responded to
  • 250
    Cared for each week by Little Sunflowers (LSCC)
  • 154
    Beneficiares on Training Courses
  • 51
    Organisations contacted with regards to The Big Volunteering Project
  • 46
    New Volunteering Opportunities created for young people
  • 40
    Organisations showing the public what they do at The Big Health Day
  • 14
    Newsletters Produced
  • 12
    Forum Meetings for Organisations who provide Health & Social Care services
  • 11
    E-Briefings to over 150 People & Organisations
  • 09
    Achieved Employment or Volunteering through attending Engagement Activities at The Opportunities Centre
  • 08
    Achieved Accredited Qualifications through attending Engagement Activities at The Opportunities Centre
  • 05
    Young people on the Gwirvol Grants Panel
  • 05
    Have Volunteered and undertaken Childcare training Opportunities with LSCC
  • 02
    Opportunities for Local Groups to discuss Proposed changes to Health & Social Care